Symphony West Orchestra

March 9, 2012 program cover

Jewels of Scandinavia

March 9, 2012 8:00 p.m.
Victoria Marra, Conductor

Swedish Rhapsody
“Midsummer Vigil” Opus 19
- Hugo Alfven (Sweden 1872-1960)
Adaptation by Percy Faith
Premiered in 1904

Symphony No. 2 in Bb Major, Opus 15 - Johan S. Svendsen (Norway 1840-1911)
Composed in 1874, Premiered in 1876
I: Allegro
II: Andante sostenuto
III: Intermezzo: Allegro giusto
IV: Finale: Andante, Allegro con brio


Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, Opus 46 - Edvard Hagerup Grieg (Norway 1843-1907)
Composed 1874-1876
Morning Mood; The Death of Ase; Anitra’s Dance; In the Hall of the Mountain King

Finlandia, Tone Poem, Opus 26 No. 7 - Jean Sibelius (Finland 1865-1957)
Composed in 1899, Premiered in 1900 by the Helsinki Philharmonic

This evening’s concert is made possible through the generosity of our Donors and Advertisers. Thank You!